Navigation Menu

N_F.23 Work with children of a less fortunate neighborhood (Nicaragua)

Location: Granada, Nicaragua

Collage N_F.23

Description of the project:

The organization is situated in one of Granada’s poorest neighborhoods. The main aims are giving the children mental, spiritual, emotional and practical support and breaking the cycle of poverty by providing educational assistance. This takes place in form of after school child care. Because of their living situation most of the families are not able to encourage their children as they would need it. But here the organization wants to act complementarily.

Since a lot of the children would not get a proper meal during their day, the organization prepares lunch for them. Furthermore, the children get educated in English or can get additional classes in subjects like math, geography, reading and writing. Besides the opportunity to learn in groups they can get tutored while doing their homework. They also support the children materially with backpacks, school supplies, uniforms and shoes. Learning practical life skills such as manners, interpersonal skills, environmental stewardship and a sense of discipline and responsibility are also basic intentions of the organization’s work. Beside all the educative objects the children should mainly feel themselves in good hands, comfortable and accepted; so beside all of this there is still time to have fun for example on Fridays, when it is time to play games. In June 2014 the school moved into a new building and there they are able to teach and cater for around 200 kids – therefore they will need a lot of additional support from volunteers!

Your tasks:

  • Assisting the English lessons (during the weekly volunteer meetings you are invited to bring your own ideas to the project and the work)
  • Helping with the serving of lunch
  • Tutoring (Spanish and Math) as well as helping with the homework
  • Work schedule: Mondays to Fridays from 11 a.m. to 3 p.m. or 2 p.m. to 6 p.m.
  • Vacations: Easter week, one week around Christmas; holidays need to be coordinated with the project director


  • Minimum stay: 1 month
  • Spanish level: Basic, but we recommend a Spanish crash course before or during your stay
  • English level: Good enough to teach
  • Skills and expertise: Creativity, independent nature, patience, good with children, flexibility, cultural sensitivity, ability to be disciplined, basic math skills, teaching experience is a bonus, but definitely not required

Accommodation, Benefits and Costs:

  • You can stay with a host family (from 50 US$/ week incl. breakfast), in a shared flat (from 35 US$/ week), or in a hostel (from 5 US$/ day in a dorm room)
  • Proyecto Mosaico books your lodging, Spanish school and your transportation from the airport, furthermore we offer individual assistance provided by the office in Granada before, throughout and after your stay
  • For our work and our services we ask a one-time-only fee of 250 € – regardless of the length of your stay

Have a look at the detailed project presentation with more pictures, info on accommodation and location:

Interested? Send us here your…

Inicial Request for your Volunteer Experience

Post a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Klick. Gefällt mir !schliessen
Powered by LikeJS

Navigation Menu

N_F.23 Arbeite mit Kindern eines benachteiligten Stadtteils (Nicaragua)

Projektstandort: Granada, Nicaragua

Collage N_F.23

Projektbeschreibung:

Das Projekt befindet sich in einem der ärmsten Stadtteile Granadas. Das Hauptziel des Projekts besteht darin den Kindern mentale, spirituelle, emotionale und praktische Unterstützung zu geben, um den Kreislauf der Armut mittels Bildung zu brechen. Dies geschieht in Form von Mittags- und Nachtmittagsbetreuung. Aufgrund ihrer Lebensumstände sind die Familien nicht in der Lage in Kinder zu bestärken wie sie es bräuchten. Hier möchte die Organisation ergänzend wirken.

Die Kinder bekämen ohne die Hilfe des Projekts oftmals keine ordentliche Mahlzeit am Tag. N_F.23 bereitet den Kindern ein Mittagessen zu. Außerdem erhalten die Kinder Englischunterricht und können zusätzliche Stunden in Fächern wie Mathe, Geographie, Lesen oder Schreiben besuchen. Neben der Möglichkeit in Gruppen zu lernen, werden sie während der Bearbeitung ihrer Hausaufgaben betreut. Die Kinder werden zudem materiell in Form von Rucksäcken, Schulmaterialien, Uniformen und Schuhen unterstützt. Vermittlung von lebenspraktischen Fähigkeiten wie Manieren, zwischenmenschlicher Fertigkeiten, Umweltschutz, ein Sinn für Disziplin und Verantwortung gehören ebenso zu den Grundintentionen des Projekts. Daneben sollen sich die Kinder vor Allem gut aufgehoben und akzeptiert fühlen. Daher wird den Kindern auch ein Platz zum Spielen gewährt. Beispielsweise stehen freitags immer Spiel und Spaß im Mittelpunkt. Im Juni 2014 zog die Schule in ein neues Gebäude, wo eine Betreuung von bis zu 200 Kindern möglich ist – dafür wird reichlich Unterstützung von Freiwilligen benötigt!

Aufgabenbeschreibung:

  • Unterstützung des Englischklassen (innerhalb der wöchentlichen Freiwilligenmeetings kannst du deine eigenen Ideen bezüglich des Projekts und der Arbeit einbringen
  • Hilfe bei der Essensausgabe
  • Nachhilfe (Spanisch und Mathe) sowie Hausaufgabenbetreuung
  • Kreative Aktivitäten mit den Kindern (Spiele, Tanz, Theater, Handwerk, etc.)
  • Arbeitszeiten: Montags bis freitags von 11:00 bis 15:00 Uhr oder 14:00 bis 18:00 Uhr
  • Ferien: Osterwoche, eine Woche an Weihnachten; Urlaub ist individuell mit der Projektleitung abzuklären

Anforderungen und Voraussetzungen:

  • Mindestzeitraum: 1 Monat
  • Spanischkenntnisse: Grundkenntnisse, aber ein Spanisch-Intensivkurs vor Ort wird empfohlen
  • Englischkenntnisse: Gut genug zum Unterrichten
  • Sonstige Voraussetzungen: Kreativität, Vorstellungsvermögen, Selbstständigkeit, Geduld, Flexibilität, Spaß am Lesen und Basteln, Spaß an der Arbeit mit Kindern; Erfahrung im Unterrichten wünschenswert

Unterkunft, Leistungen und Kosten:

  • Unterbringung in einer Gastfamilie (ab 50 US$ / Woche inkl. Frühstück, in einer WG/ Appartement (ab 35 US$/ Woche) oder in einem Hostel (ab 5 US$/Tag im Schlafsaal)
  • Proyecto Mosaico sorgt für die Unterbringung, den Spanischunterricht sowie den Transport vom Flughafen zum Projekt und steht den Freiwilligen vor, während und nach dem Aufenthalt immer bei Fragen und Problemen zur Verfügung
  • Für unsere Arbeit und unsere Dienstleistungen erheben wir eine einmalige Teilnahmegebühr in Höhe von 250 € – unabhängig von der Dauer deines Aufenthaltes

Schau’ dir auch die ausführliche Projektpräsentation mit Fotos, Infos zu Unterkunft und Ort (PDF auf Englisch) an:

Interessiert? Hier geht’s zur…

Erstanfrage für deinen Einsatz

Kommentar absenden

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.